The Government of Cyprus, recognizing  the importance of research and innovation and its positive impact on economic growth and societal benefits, adopted by a Council of Ministers decision in October 2018, a new Research and Innovation (R&I) governance system,  reflecting the necessity to draft and implement an ambitious National Strategy for Research and Innovation. To this effect, the first Chief Scientist of Research and Innovation of the Republic of Cyprus was appointed in January 2019.

The Chief Scientist is an integral role within the new R&I Governance System and holds a number of ex-officio roles such as Member of the National Board of R&I (NBRI), Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Research and Innovation Foundation (RIF)  and Chairman of Ministry R&I Coordinators’ Committee. The Chief Scientist is appointed by the President of the Republic of Cyprus.

The Chief Scientists of the Republic of Cyprus to date are as follows:

  • Dr. Nikolas Mastroyiannopoulos (2020 – present)
  • Mr. Kyriacos Kokkinos (2019 – 2020)